Upcoming changes!

Well, it has certainly been a while since I posted anything new, at least new related to my photography, so here is an update to outline a few things I have been piecing together these last few weeks that you will see come together in the not-too-distant future.

First things first, I have decided to get serious about my blog. I have been slacking a bit since returning from South America at the end of May and I am working myself up toward posting at least once a week from now on. I’ve got all sorts of newly-named categories that I had hoped to fill with lots of examples, tips, tricks and toys  (Photo Journal, Wishlist, Purchase Opportunities, Mini-Gallery), and now I’m really going to crack down on posting so you can expect to see lots more posts coming and probably more categories as well very soon.

Side note: feel free to send a comment or two along with your ideas of what you might like to see more of/less of, or category suggestions as well.

On the topic of getting serious about my blog, I have decided to purchase my own blog domain, so you won’t see WordPress in my blog address any longer. I’ll be making this change shortly and I’ll issue an update so you can get the new address – but feel free to subscribe to my blog for email updates on upcoming posts as well. I’m also really hoping to get more followers on my blog, so feel free to share it out with your friends and family – be sure to let them know that there are prizes to be won by subscribing, and also for following me on Facebook, including signed prints and limited time coupons for photo sessions!

Something else I would like to do is similar to a little adventure called Project 365 – you’ve probably heard of folks who intend to take a photo a day for one year, and I’ve come up with a plan to give it a go but take my own little spin on it. I’m going to do Project 52 with one image posted weekly (keep reading before you make a judgement and call me lazy for not posting daily!) and to go along with the photo I am going to write a haiku describing my thoughts on the image. The images aren’t necessarily going to be works of art, but sometimes just an image of something I might find funny or sad or maybe even infuriating, anything that might strike a chord in me. I’d like to be able to induce emotion with each image and that is going to be the theme of my project. Keep your eyes peeled for week number one coming soon!

As for my web site, there is going to be a rearranging of images in the gallery, including samples from my very first upcoming maternity shoot that will be displayed in my ‘Recent Work’ album. The older work that is currently showing in that album will be shuffled off into respective locations by content and style, as it is getting a bit out of date and it’s time to reveal something fresh. I am also considering creating a new logo as well – I’ve never been one to settle on one design for anything so it might be a long time before I land on something that I truly love and want to keep.

Last but not least, I’d like to expand my photography niche a little and start adding people into my work a bit more. I have always shied away from working with folks because I seem to get nervous too easily, but I intend to incorporate the human element into my ever-growing fine art efforts in some way as often as possible. I’m not yet sure exactly in what capacity I will be making this happen, but you can expect to see something interesting in coming months.

As always, thank you so much for stopping by and for your interest in my photography. I hope that you will enjoy looking through my future projects as much as I am going to enjoy creating them!

– Sheena

~ by Sheena on July 30, 2010.

Leave a comment